Japan Day 20: Last Day of the Kanto Festival

The Kanto Festival went by so fast! I am so grateful and blessed to have witnessed and even participate in such a famous event. I hope I can watch it again in the near future.

In the morning before the festival, we went to eat soba at the same place we ate at 2 years ago. They are good friends with the owners so my host brother enjoys going into the kitchen and watching them make soba, tempura, etc. I’ve been eating a lot of noodles lately and I am loving it!  

 
Right after lunch we went to a well-known kakigori place because it was just so hot and who doesn’t like shaved ice on a hot day. The place had so many flavors, but I just got the basic strawberry. I think condensed milk is a bit too sweet for me. I like that this place gives you a lot of syrup. I still prefer snow ice though because it is softer on the mouth.

 
The final day of the festival was amazing as usual. I didn’t play taiko this time because I was just too sore. I think you need to practice and work up to playing for 4 hours each night. I am still sore but it was definitely worth it. 

   
 
We had our final midnight dinner that night. Forget what I said about losing weight this trip; I think I gained it back. However, because I am drinking more water and the Japanese diet is just overall less salty and fattening than American diet, I do not get bloated hardly when I’m full. On the other hand, I also don’t work out as much because it is just too hot and I get so tired at the end of the day. My goal is to get back in shape when I get back to school so I don’t look like a scrawny little kid.  

 We went to a super loud yakitori place and ordered this special meat. I forgot what it was but is was very tasty and meaty. 

That’s all for now! 

Leave a Reply

