Visiting the University of Tokyo

Work has been very calm this week. There isn’t a lot to be done as the programs that they coordinate (visa processing for Japanese internships abroad) are not quite happening yet. They have been giving us a lot of work that isn’t due for awhile, and then we finish it quickly because it is not that hard, and they are shocked and not sure what to give us. It is really funny and kind of cute. We will be getting new and exciting work soon, though. I’m just happy to be here and I’m trying my best to get better at Japanese, but it is going to take awhile. 

A thing I’ve been noticing recently is that at certain places like shops, if I don’t understand something in Japanese, they look at me funny and aren’t quite sure what to make of it. Most people are generally helpful and will slow down because they realize I’m a foreigner, but when there’s a long line or they are rushing they don’t bother to explain things in simple Japanese. Understandable, but I think because I look Japanese and I am pretty much always dressed in business clothes when I go out, people think I’m just a dumb Japanese person who doesn’t know how to live in society sometimes. Or maybe I’m just thinking that because I’m shy. Oh well. 

Today at work the boss handed out cute desserts for everyone. We thought it was a special occasion, but it was “just a snack.” Everyone is so nice and cute! I’m thankful to be surrounded by people who are close to each other and who are nice to me, despite my poor Japanese abilities.


We left work around 4 to go to the University of Tokyo aka the Harvard of Japan. We met someone who is the head of the program that we process visas for. One of my co-workers talked about the program at the study abroad session we watched. I thought the school was nice, but I personally think my college is much prettier. Apparently both colleges have had movies filmed at them though.


Tomorrow we will visit the National Diet I think!

2 thoughts on “Visiting the University of Tokyo

Leave a Reply

