Magic Restaurant

Our boss said that he had a “surprise” for us after work on Wednesday, and it was surely an experience! I thought it would just be a normal dinner before he left for his business trip, but the restaurant was far from ordinary. Upon entering, I noticed that the lights were dimmed and the tables were set up like in a fancy living room; it seemed like the type of restaurant where intense business deals went down. After receiving a few drinks and appetizers, a guy came and performed some magic tricks for us–then I realized that the surprise was an awesome dinner at a magic restaurant! 社長さんから水曜日の仕事の後にサプライズがあり、本当に面白い経験でした。社長さんが出張をする前の普通のディナーと思いましたが、このレストランは普通のとは全然違いませんでした。入る際に、照明が暗くなり、テーブルは高級な居室のように配置されることに気が付き、第一印象はこのレストラン内にはビジネスマンが深刻な商売上の取引をしそうな感じでした。飲み物と前菜を盛ってから、マジシャンが前に手品を披露し、サプライスというのは手品のレストランだとすぐに気づきました。

The two magicians that performed for us in front of our table were amazing and super nice. One of them spoke English very well as he was from Singapore, and the other was a very talented Japanese magician who did the stage show. It was fun how they included us in all of their various tricks. My favorite was the one where the other intern and I wrote our names on the card, and then he did something and at the end of the trick he handed us a water bottle with our card in it. We forgot to keep the bottle as a souvenir, but we took a picture. Although my boss said that he has seen this trick about ten times, he still can’t figure out how it is performed. We looked online and there is a kit you can buy on Amazon for about $30… テーブルの前で二人のマジシャンがすごく上手で優しい人でした。一人のシンガポールから来たマジシャンは英語を上手に話せ、他の人はステージショーを披露した天才的な日本人の芸能人です。様々な手品で私たちが時々ボランティアするので、楽しかったです。好きな手品というのは、私と他のインターンとカードで名前を書き、その後魔法使いが何かして、中に名前を書いてあるカードがある水筒をくれることでした。レストランでこの水筒を忘れてしまいましたが、写真を撮りました。社長さんはこの手品を十回見たことがありますが、どやってできるかまだ分かりません。実は、アマゾンでこのような手品の水筒を$30買えます。

Can’t find the photo…

The stage show was super fun and I was even chosen as a volunteer, even though I was nervous because I sometimes cannot understand the Japanese. It was fun despite looking super derpy and awkward the whole time. I got to partake in another card trick where I wrote my name down, and then magically the card appeared in another card in an envelope that was sitting on a table across the room. I was so amazed the whole time I was at the restaurant; I think I’m pretty easy to amuse. ステージショーも楽しいし、日本語が分からなくて緊張していましたが、私をボランティアとして選ばれました。ばかみたいなボランティアでしたが、楽しかったです。この手品というのは、またカードで名前を書き、魔法のように部屋の向こうのテーブルの上に置いた封筒の中に他のカードの中に現れたことでした。あの晩、ずっと驚きました!私は楽しませやすいと思います。


Our boss also ordered us a cake with our names written in chocolate syrup. When they presented it to us, the waiters played loud music for us and then we blew out the candles. It was so cute and this surprise was so unexpected. I am truly thankful for this experience and if I ever have a business, I hope to bless people like I have been blessed this summer. 社長さんはチョコシロップで名前を書いてあるケーキも注文し、ウェイトレスが盛ってくれたら、大きい音楽を演奏し、私たちはろうそくを吹き消しました。ケーキは可愛いし、このサプライズに驚きました。このインターンシップの経験を感謝し、いつかビジネスの社長になったら、私が恵まれたのように他の人々を恵みたいと思っています。


Tomorrow is our last day of this internship. I am reflecting on how I have been feeling throughout this summer and although this blog reflects all of the fun adventures I have been on, there have also been some minor hard times that my friends who follow me do not realize. I have definitely had low self-esteem and depressed/negative thoughts about myself due to my lack of business Japanese skill compared to all the other people in the office, but I believe God wanted me to experience this challenge since I have generally never challenged myself throughout my life. I have a lot to learn still, especially how to deal with internal negativity and how to distinguish thoughts that are not from Him, but I’m proud of myself for completing my first internship strong. 明日はインターンシップの最後の日です。夏中の気持を考え、このブログは全部の東京の楽しい冒険を示していますが、私のフォローしている友達が気づかなかった苦労が時々ありました。会社内の人に対して日本語が得意ではないから、落ち込んでいる感想や低い自己評価がありますが、一生の間挑戦に応じないので、神様はこのような挑戦をしてほしいと思います。まだ学ぶべきことがたくさんあり、自分の後ろ向きなことを扱ったり神様ではないからの感想を見分けたりしなければならないですが、初めてのインターンシップを強く完成できて嬉しいいです。

Next week I go to Akita, but before then I still have a few more adventures in Tokyo. Then I return home and I hope to just relax and continue to practice my Japanese before I return for three months (probably will only be able to practice listening and reading skills since there’s no one I can really talk to…). What a good evening! 来週秋田に行きましたが、前に東京の冒険がまだたくさんあります。そして帰国した時、三ヶ月日本に戻る前に家でリラックスしたり日本語を練習したりしたい(一緒に日本語で練習する人がいないから、聞き取り及び読みだけ練習できるかも)と思います。楽しかった夕食でした!

Leave a Reply

