Christmas Party

教会のお友達は成蹊大学の日本人と留学生の方々へのクリスマスパティーに誘ってくれました。私のプログラムのお友達も誘って、素敵な経験になりました。My friend from church invited me to a Christmas party at Seikei University with other international and Japanese students. It was a wonderful experience and I even invited a few of my friends from my study abroad program to participate. 

最初に集合して、名札で名前を書きました。多くの学生が英語で話したがっていたので、一緒に簡単な会話をしてあげました。現在の通っている大学に対して、成蹊大学は外語大学ではなく、英語能力の差が違います。大学は英語能力が上達になることを役に立たないそうで、普通の会話でも分かりにくいです。結局ほとんどの時間に日本語で話してしまいました。In the beginning of the party we all gathered and wrote our names on name tags. A lot of students wanted to speak English, so I tried to have simple conversations with them. Seikei isn’t a foreign language school like the one I’m studying at now, so I noticed a huge difference between the language ability; they said that their school really doesn’t help them improve their English, so a lot of them had trouble understanding even simple things. However, it was good practice and I ended up speaking Japanese most of the time anyway.

ほとんどの学生はクリスマスの原因が聖書からことか知らないため、パティー中に説明する機会がありました。クイズを配って、上手くできた人にチョコをあげました。なかなか面白い経験で、新しいことを学ぶのがいいです。During the party we had the opportunity to share the meaning behind Christmas as most people don’t realize that its roots are from the Bible. We gave them a fun quiz to see if they knew the story and then handed out some chocolates to those who did well. It was a different experience so people were happy to learn something new.


最後の活動はケーキの装飾でした。私たちのケーキはかなりキレイで美味しかったです。世界中から来た人と知り合えて良かったです。さらに、他の大学の雰囲気を経験できて、嬉しいです。At the end we had a fun cake decorating activity. Our cake turned out pretty good and it tasted alright, too. It was great getting to know new people from all over the world. It was also nice to see a different college atmosphere than the one I’m currently at. 


もうすぐアメリカに戻って、家族とクリスマスを祝いますね!Pretty soon I will be at home celebrating Christmas with my family! 

Leave a Reply

