A New Adventure 

On Tuesday I will be embarking on a new adventure for two months! I will be interning at a hotel in Tokyo under the Pasona International Exchange Program. I would be happy to explain all about the application procedure and my overall thoughts on this program after I have completed my internship. For the sake of privacy, I will not reveal which hotel or where exactly I will be living on this blog until later, so for those who know me personally please do not give it away. 

I will be interning in the sales and rooms booking division. In general, I hope to learn as much as I can about the hospitality industry. Whether or not I work in Japan and whether or not I work in hospitality, I know I will be gaining invaluable business skills before entering my senior year of college. 

What exactly inspired me to want to work in hospitality? The main reason is because I want to provide great service just as I have received great service all my life. Many people look down on service industry jobs because we are in a society where it is all about receiving. I believe that this internship will truly humble me as I face various challenges in order to give the very best to clients. If I do end up in a career in hospitality, I hope my work reflects the humbleness that we as Christians are supposed to have as we walk through life.

However, there are many worries and anxieties that I am facing that most people would not sense from the outside.  First and foremost, I struggle with self-hatred that causes me to doubt my abilities as a person and more specifically in my ability to speak Japanese; it is much easier to just believe the lies instead of God’s truth. These past few weeks my mental health has been poor but I am picking myself back up by remembering how God has been faithful to me so far. Since He has opened so many doors for me to participate in this internship this far, I can’t turn back now. 

Secondly, I think I like many other Japanese learners struggle with internalized competition. While there is probably competition in other languages as well, because Japan is known historically to be a more closed society that does not accept outsiders readily, we all want to do our very best to “be the best foreigner.” Like some famous YouTubers who live in Japan say, whenever they mess up they feel ashamed because they feel like they are representing all of foreigners. In addition, the JLPT that supposedly measures “fluency” is another category Japanese learners sometimes internally use as a way to say “I’m a better foreigner because I passed X level.” While there is nothing wrong with passing, many people, myself included, use scores and grades to determine their self-worth as a language learner. 

Realizing this and my weaknesses, I believe that someday I can overcome these issues stated above. Right now I do not really have a plan, but I know that on the days I have really low self-confidence I will just say to myself, “I can speak Japanese!” many times until I sort of believe it. 

Thanks to everyone who always reads my blogs. Please stay amused while reading my future posts! 

火曜日に2ヶ月間の冒険を踏み切ります!東京にあるホテルにてパソナ国際交流プログラムでインターンシップを参加させていただきます。プログラムの終了後、是非申込手順、全体的な感想などについて書こうと思っていますので、メール登録よろしくお願いします!また、個人情報のためホテルや住まいの場所をこのブログでまだ知らせませんので、ご理解くださいまして、ありがとうございます。😊

インターンシップのうちに営業部、予約部に挑戦してみます。一般に、ホスピタリティ業に関してできるだけ学びたいと思っています。将来に日本で就職するかどうか、ホスピタリティの仕事をするかどうか、大学の四年生になる前に大切なビジネス能力を得ることです。

ホスピタリティ業に参入したいきっかけは何でしょうか?主な理由は、一生の間立派なサービスをいただくように立派なサービスを提供したいということです。今の社会では自分のことしか集中していない生活をしているので、多くの人がサービス業の仕事を見下ろすことがありますが、私はインターンシップ中にお客様に応えるために様々な問題に直面したりしたら、絶対に謙遜するようになると信じています。もしかしたらホスピタリティで働くなら、仕事はキリスト人としての持つべき謙虚を表します。

しかし、人々が外見から見えない悩みや不安が多くあります。自分の能力、日本語能力を疑う自己嫌悪と闘い、自分の嘘の方が神様の真理より信頼しやすいです。過去2週間メンタルヘルスが非常に酷かったけれだ、神様が今まで忠実を誓ってくれる頃を覚えると元気になっていきます。彼がインターンシップを参加するために何回もドアを開けてくれたので、諦めません!

それ以上、その他の多くの日本語の学習者と同様、私は競争を内面化することがあり、以外の外語には同じそうもあると思いますが、日本は歴史的に外国人をあまり受け入れない国だと考えられているので、私たちは一生懸命一番いい外国人になりたいかなと思うこがあります。ある日本に住んでいるユーチューブさんが言ったとおり、自分の行動が日本人の方に全部の外国人を表すように心がけて、誤りをしたりするのせいで肩身を狭い思いをすることになります。また、ある外国人にとっては流暢さを測ると思われる日本語能力試験が、「~級に合格したので、他人より良い外国人だな」という考えで使っている人もいます。合格っていうのは悪いわけではないけど、成績で自分の価値を判断する傾向があります。

それと自分の弱点を現実し、克服しようと信じています。今どうやるか分からないんですが、自信がない日には信じるまでに「日本語ができる!」と何回も言うことをします。

いつも読んでいただく皆さん、ありがとうございました!これからも楽しく読んでみてください!

3 thoughts on “A New Adventure 

Leave a Reply

