Arrival

I got into Japan around 3:30PM although I was supposed to land an hour earlier. My internship booked our flight for us but unfortunately they booked United–all was well until we had to wait an extra hour for some other customers who had delayed connecting flights. Other than that, the flight was fine although I personally think United’s seats are smaller and the food is not as good as other airlines. I also realized mid-flight that I forgot my iPhone charger, something that I have never forgotten before. I almost freaked out but tried to remain calm and I just asked the person next to me to borrow his.

We were supposed to meet at the headquarters by 4PM, but that clearly wasn’t going to happen considering we were delayed. It took me extra long to get through immigration because I have a visa and the people didn’t seem to know what to do at first until they called over the manager. Because I’m only staying two months, I don’t have to have a foreigner card, register my address at the local ward office, or sign up for the national health insurance.

I finally got to the headquarters at around 6PM. Luckily someone else was with me from my internship, so we were late together. I didn’t really have a chance to meet the other students too well, but everyone seems very nice and is very good at Japanese. 

Then I was taken to my internship to meet the person in charge of me. It was absolutely horrible dragging around my suitcase in the humid weather onto the train but I did it with some help! Luckily I was able to stop somewhere and get a phone charger on the way. 

It was super intense for me at first when I got to my internship. They made me take a picture and gave me a card that says I’m an intern there. I can use the card to get into my dorm and to enter the employee offices of the hotel. It was so interesting to see the offices underneath the hotel instead of the formal lobby like I’m used to. I’m still worried that there will be a lot of formalities and things that I don’t know that I may mess up on, but I will do my best.

My dorm is about half an hour away. It’s not really a dorm like the last dorm I stayed at, but rather it is a company sponsored place with individual apartment rooms. There doesn’t seem to be any common rooms so I don’t think I will meet too many people. Everyone who lives here though works at the hotel, though. The dorm is co-ed but women and men are separated by wings. Hopefully I can try to make at least one friend. 

I think my first day can be summed up as moments of doom to moments of confidence. For example, when I realized I didn’t have my charger I thought of all the endless possibilities of what could go wrong. Likewise, when I first got to the headquarters and the hotel I had moments of doubt that I really wanted to do this and questioned if I really could survive in a Japanese work environment. However, I’m really trying to challenge myself and I’m asking God to give me a willingness to learn and a humble heart whenever I do anything. Hopefully the people around me too can extend grace and understanding when I make mistakes. 

日本に午後3時半に到着し、1時間前に着くはずなんでしたが、ある接続便が遅くなるそうで1時間半ぐらいお客様を待っていました。インターンシッププログラムがユナイテッド航空で予約してくれて、ちょっと残念だなと思いますが、遅れること以外にフライトには問題なかったです。しかし、他の航空の方が座席が大きいし、食事が美味しいし、しょうがないですね。それに、フライトの道中にiPhone充電器を持ってこなかったと気づいて、少し不安になりましたが冷静さを保つように挑戦しました。

午後4時までパソナグループ本部に集合したはずでしたが、フライトの遅れのため間に合わなかったんです。また、私はビサを持っているので入国審査を時間が長くかかって、管理検査官がマネージャーに助けを求めるまで分からなかったんです。日本に2ヶ月間しか滞在していないので、在留カード、区役所にて住所の登録、国民保険に入ることも必要はないとなります。

午後6時に本部に到着し、他の一人のインターンシップ参加者と一緒でよかったと思います。全員の参加者をまだご挨拶しなかったけれど、みんなが優しくて、日本語がすごく上手みたいな人ですね。

そして、インターンシップの担当に会いに行って、すごく緊張していました。写真を撮らせて、社員カードを作らせてもらい、そのカードでホテルの従業員のオフィス、寮に入られることになります。普通のホテルのロービーの代わりに、オフィスに入るなんて面白い経験でした。分からないビジネスマナー、文化の間違いをすることをちょっと緊張していますが、頑張ります!

そこから30分ぐらいかかる寮に行き、慣れた寮のような感じがなくて、マンションみたいな部屋の寮です。休憩室や集合室がないみたいで他のホテルの方に会いにくいと思いますが、せめて一人の友達ができればいいんです。

全体的にこの日には「絶対にできない」とか「もちろんできる」という感想を持っていることがあります。例えば、充電器を忘れたと気づいたら終わりのない問題が頭にいっぱい出てきて、そして本部とホテルに行った時に自信がない気持ちもしました。本当に日本で働きたいかどうか考えていますが、いろいろ挑戦して神様に何の仕事をしても学習意欲のこと、謙虚な心と祈っています。それに、何か間違いがあったら周りの人たちが猶予を与えると願っています。

One thought on “Arrival

Leave a Reply

