Orientation Day 2

For our second day of orientation, we got to experience a whole different set of activities! First we met at Pasona and split up into three groups and went into different offices. Pasona has a cool routine of giving announcements at the beginning of the work day. People also make different short presentations about necessary things. At the end the newest members hold up a board with the company’s goals and everyone recites them together. After this we gave our short self-introductions. It was a very interesting experience to see how collective Japanese companies are compared to the individualist culture in America.

Afterwards we had a short session with someone from Pasona Global. We went over various facts about Japan and where it stands with the rest of the world (i.e. GDP ranking). I understood a decent amount however there is still a lot of vocab I don’t know.

It is interesting because today I mostly practiced Japanese speaking with all the rest of the interns and Japanese is all our second/third language. Usually I would just speak English but it is good that we are all practicing. I noticed that some students from China, even though they have been studying only half as long as I have, speak way more eloquently than me and use way more sophisticated vocabulary. I asked why and they said that they have specific courses just for those complicated topics. I really think the U.S. needs to rethink how we teach foreign languages because personally I feel like my long seven years of learning Japanese has not always been as productive as it could have been inside the classroom. 

The rest of the day was spent outside. We went to the Currency Museum and the Bank of Japan. You can’t take photos there so this blog won’t have many photos. At the bank we had an half hour session with someone who explained the bank and some basic economic things. I surprisingly was able to understand a lot of it, especially about the macroeconomic policies such as inflation and deflation. It also helped that I studied part of a Japanese financial newspaper textbook last semester abroad so I could understand some vocab. 

We ate lunch at Tokyo Tower and then went up to the observatory. I personally don’t think Tokyo Tower is a must if you are coming to Tokyo for the first time, but it is fun to take pictures.

The last place we visited was the ANA Intercontinental Hotel to see some work created by Pasona Heartful, a group dedicated to helping people with disabilities create art to sell. The hotel and art was beautiful; I’ve never been to this hotel but it looks like it would be a 4 or 5-star hotel. It was a little noisier and crowded but the architecture was beautiful.

We all went our separate ways and I decided to go to Shibuya. My feet hurt from walking so much, but I want to experience as much as I can while I’m here so I pushed through! I ate a very small dinner at the Loccitane Cafe overlooking the Shibuya Crossing. 

Tomorrow I might explode Yokohama with some friends! 

Leave a Reply

