New Staff Training

Today instead of doing work, I joined new staff members for a day of training. I have many things to say about what I learned so I hope you find it interesting!

Most of the other staff members were young people like me, but others were adults who were changing careers in the middle of their life. A few were foreigners from Asian countries who have been living in Japan for a long time, so they speak like native speakers. The hotel staff was very kind to me but treated me just like everyone else, while being mindful that Japanese is not my first language so there are some things I may not understand. Surprisingly I did very well at understanding the information and didn’t zone out as much as I thought I would. I feel very proud that I was able to complete a regular day of draining like a typical Japanese new staff worker.

Throughout the day we learned various information like the history of the hotel, the hotel’s motto, hotel manners, etc. I will talk about the most interesting things here.

One interesting and practical thing we learned was how to stand, walk, bow, and direct clients properly. For example, when standing in the lobby where clients can see you, you have to stand in a proper way to give a good impression; women must stand with their feet open 30 degrees while men must stand with their feet open 60 degrees. I know these details sound too complicated from the American point of view, but we got to practice and were critiqued so it wasn’t as hard as it sounded. It is these types of things that I was excited to learn about! 

Most importantly, we learned how to talk to clients using proper Japanese. In Japan, each company will have different rules regarding language formality, and this hotel definitely has the most formal language requirements. I felt good that even the other Japanese students weren’t used to it so I didn’t feel like the only one who was nervous. 

We also got to go inside the hotel to see the restaurants, lobby, etc. We even saw one of the most expensive suites! The suite is apparently about $5,000 a night, but that’s not even the most expensive one; the most expensive one is about $10,000. The rooms here are designed with psychology in mind with every little detail planned. To be honest, it was super nice but as far as the layout and technology goes, the room I stayed in before that is way cheaper (but still very expensive) is very much similar. I wish I could live in a hotel…

The training ended with some videos of current staff members being interviewed on why they like working here. It was very touching and I hope to be someone who really loves her job. At the end they used a Christian song in the background and I thought it was so funny; they probably didn’t know it was a Christian praise song but anyways, I took it as another sign that God really opened the door for me to intern here. 

Can’t wait for another day!  

本日普段のインターン仕事ではなく、新スタッフの研修に参加しました!様々なことを学んだりしたので、是非最後まで読んでみてくださいね!

多くの新スタッフは新卒者なんですが、転職する中年性の方もいました。また、あるスタッフはアジア国からいらっしゃったんですけれど、日本にずっと長い間に住んでいますので、日本語のネイティヴな感じがあります。研修の担当者が優しくてくれて、分からない日本語があるように心掛けて、私を日本人に扱いました。日本の社会人のように研修に参加できて、本当に嬉しかったです。

一日中、ホテルの歴史、理念、マナー等の様々な大切なことを学んで、一番面白いことについて書きたいと思います。

一つの面白い学んだことは、立ち方、歩き方、お辞儀の仕方、お客様を案内する方法です。例えば、ロービーにてお客様の前で良い第一印象を与えるように立ち、女性が足を30度に開いて立って、男性が60度に開いて立たなければなりません。もちろんアメリカ人の立場としてそれは難しすぎますが、研修内にはちゃんと練習できて訂正されて、思ったより難しくなかったのです。

一番大切のは、お客様に礼儀正しい日本語の言い方です。日本では会社によって敬語のルールが違いますが、このホテルは一番厳しいと思います。他の日本人でも敬語に慣れていないので、私は安心しました。

その上に、客室、ロービー、レストラン等も見学しました。そこで、最も高い客室の一つを見に行き、一泊50万円となりますが、一番高いのではなく、最も高いのは100円です!人間の心理を心掛けて部屋が作られました。実は、見学したスイートは素敵な客室ですが、前もう少し安い泊まったことがある客室とは違いがあまりないと思います。ホテルに住めばいいですね…

研修が終わる前に、働いているスタッフになぜホテルで働くのが好きかという質問された動画を見て、非常に感動して、いつか仕事が好きな社会人になりたいかなと考えがあります。動画の終わりに、キリスト教の音楽をバックラウンドに静かに流れて、本当に面白かったと思います。キリスト教の歌なんて知らないかもしれませんが、その歌は神様が私にホテルにてインターンシップに参加する機会を与えることを思いさせました。

明日楽しみにしています。

2 thoughts on “New Staff Training

  1. wow i loved reading this post :’) i think it’s soo cool that you’re getting so comfortable with japanese

Leave a Reply

